I have accepted a faculty position at UMaine!

I am very pleased to announce that I have accepted a position as an Assistant Professor of Paleoecology & Plant Ecology at the University of Maine in Orono, jointly with the School of Biology & Ecology and the Climate Change Institute! I am thrilled to join a program with a strong tradition of paleoecological research, and am excited for the opportunity to do paleo-work in my native New England. My position begins September 1, 2013.

I am recruiting a graduate student (ideally a the masters level) for Fall 2013 or 2014. My research interests are in the community paleoecology of terrestrial ecosystems, including plant-herbivore interactions, dispersal, disturbance (e.g., fire, insect outbreaks), human land use effects, ecosystem thresholds and tipping points, and ecological response to abrupt climate change. My lab will combine the use of lake sediment proxies (e.g. pollen, charcoal), ecological modeling, and field experimentation to understand how terrestrial plant communities respond to global change.

If you’re interested in working with me, please send an email to jacquelynlgill@gmail.com with your research interests and a copy of your CV. A perusal of some of my recent publications will give you an idea of what I work on, but if you have a project idea that you think would be a good fit for my lab, feel free to contact me. You might also want to check out the Graduate Program in Ecology and Environmental Science website.

Leave a Reply

